All posts by kmajcen

Thanks to our participants in Deutschlandsberg und Leibnitz

One week after the final event with the participants in Graz, first results from the one-year field test were presented to the RegionAAL participants from Deutschlandsberg and Leibnitz as well. The event took place in the premises of the nursing home Kirschallee on February 13 2019.

The Sozialverein Deutschlandsberg and JOANNEUM RESEARCH gave a look back at the project and first insights into the results of the test phase. Afterwards in a relaxed mood with cakes and coffee, there was an exciting exchange of experiences around the RegionAAL components which will be available in the future.

Thanks to our participants from Graz

In a closing event for the RegionAAL participants from Graz and its surrounding area on 7 February 2019, first results from the one-year field test were presented at the Geriatric Health Centres of the City of Graz (GGZ).

During the project a technology package was compiled around the three application areas safety (stove shutdown, light installations with motion detectors and wireless switches), social inclusion (tablet with senior-friendly user interface and applications like video phone calls, messaging…) and health (smartwatch, motion videos, vital signs …). The package was tested in more than 100 households in Graz, Leibnitz and Deutschlandsberg for a period of one year.

GGZ as well as Sozialverein Deutschlandsberg and JOANNEUM RESEARCH gave first insights into the results of the accompanying evaluation.

Following the presentation of these results, the older adults were presented supporting technologies in addition to the regional AAL components which will become available in the future.

The older adults not only showed great interest but also an openness to the assistance by technology. One of the RegionAAL participants said: “Such a project is important, so that technologies become known and one learns what is already there.”

© GGZ

Fast forward 4 You

The motto of the Fast forward 4 You event on 24 January 2019 was “Active and Healthy Aging”. The Geriatric Health Centres of the City of Graz (GGZ) presented their activities in the field of Active and Assisted Living (AAL).

The Partners of GGZ presented joint cooperative projects. Within those presentations Kurt Majcen gave insights into RegionAAL and first results of the field test phase. Audience inquiries showed that there is a great interest in AAL technologies and how respectively when these technologies can be acquired and used.

© Holzcluster-Schmid

Technology and learning

The project “Who Cares?” aims at rethinking Age, ageing and care for the province of Styria. This should be achieved through interdisciplinary cooperation of experts from different fields like humanities, social and cultural sciences, art, medicine and also technology.

Kurt Majcen held a short presentation on “Active and Assisted Living (AAL)” in the first meeting of the Technology and Learning working area. In the following discussion various aspects of assistive technologies were discussed and experiences from the field trial within RegionAAL shared with the participants.

Photo: “Who Cares”

Students from Vienna university of applied sciences visiting us

Students from FH Campus Wien visited the institute DIGITAL on 12 December 2018 to learn about AAL activities at JOANNEUM RESEARCH and about the RegionAAL project. After a presentation, the robot Pepper (from another DIGITAL project dealing with dementia) as well as the tablet and the smartwatch from RegionAAL were demonstrated to the students. The individual shown technologies were of great interest to the students, who may work with and Research assistance Technologies tomorrow…

© FH Campus Wien

AAL in practice

On 15 November 2019, Kerstin Löffler from Geriatric Health Centres of the City of Graz (GGZ) presented RegionAAL and the importance of AAL at the first AAL Practice Conference in Salzburg:

As a competence centre for geriatric medicine and care, we focus on the needs of older people. Active and assisted living (AAL) technologies can be a chance to strengthen the responsibility and independence of older people. Technical support for older people allows the possibilities to live independently and self-determined at home as long as possible.

Involving the target group actively is the central element for further developments of AAL technologies. Our experience shows that seniors are open minded to participate and appreciate an active involvement.

Credit: Salzburg Research

Learning from European neighbours

On invitation of the Styrian Humane Technology Cluster, a delegation from Saxony-Anhalt with around 20 delegates visited the Geriatric Health Centres of the City of Graz (GGZ) on June 27 to exchange ideas on “Active and Healthy Aging” in order to “learn from European neighbours “. A deeper cooperation with the Styrian AHA reference region is foreseen for the future. Representatives from business and science of the health sector of Saxony-Anhalt were led by Digital State Secretary Thomas Wünsch.

Some Styrian initiatives were presented – including the RegionAAL project. Following the presentation, several topics were discussed, like composition of the group of participants, the products in use for the pilot and continuation after the project end. The event ended with a visit to the model apartment at the Albert Schweitzer Training Centre of the GGZ.

ANDA Nursing Symposium 2018

Our project RegionAAL was presented at the Nursing Symposium 2018 of the Austrian Nurse Directors Association (ANDA). The symposium took place from 6 to 8 June 2018 in beautiful St. Veit im Pongau. The ANDA working group deals with current questions and developments in nursing management and supports the establishment of a communication network between nursing experts in Europe.

The latest scientific and practical findings on the main topic “Nursing Management 4.0: Big Data – Robotic – Digitization: Fiction and Reality!” were presented by internationally renowned speakers and deepened in workshops with the participants. The health, safety and communication assistance technologies deployed in RegionAAL were presented and demonstrated in workshop 2 on “Technological support for intra- and extra-mural care”, which was held four times due to keen interest.

Alle Beiträge von kmajcen

Danke an unsere Teilnehmer/innen in Deutschlandsberg und Leibnitz

Eine Woche nach der Abschlussveranstaltung in Graz wurden auch den RegionAAL Teilnehmern/-innen aus Deutschlandsberg und Leibnitz erste Ergebnisse aus dem einjährigen Feldtest vorgestellt. Die Veranstaltung fand am 13. Februar 2019 in den Räumlichkeiten des Pflegewohnheims Kirschallee in Deutschlandsberg statt.

Der Sozialverein Deutschlandsberg und JOANNEUM RESEARCH gaben nochmals Rückblicke auf das Projekt und erste Einblicke in die Ergebnisse der Testphase. Danach gab es bei Kuchen, Kaffee und Brötchen noch einen spannenden Erfahrungsaustausch über die in Zukunft erwerblichen RegionAAL Komponenten.

Danke an unsere Teilnehmer/innen in Graz

In einer Abschlussveranstaltung für die RegionAAL Teilnehmer/innen aus Graz und Umgebung wurden am 7. Februar 2019 bei den Geriatrischen Gesundheitszentren der Stadt Graz (GGZ) erste Ergebnisse aus dem einjährigen Feldtest vorgestellt.

Im Projekt wurde zu den drei Anwendungsbereichen Sicherheit (Herdabschaltung, Lichtinstallationen mit Bewegungsmeldern und Funkschaltern), Soziale Inklusion (Tablet mit seniorengerechter Oberfläche und Anwendungen wie Videotelefonie, Nachrichten…) und Gesundheit (Smartwatch, Bewegungsvideos, Vitaldaten…) Technologiepakete zusammengestellt, die ein Jahr in über 100 Haushalten in Graz, Leibnitz und Deutschlandsberg im Einsatz waren.

GGZ sowie der Sozialverein Deutschlandsberg und JOANNEUM RESEARCH gaben erste Einblicke in die Ergebnisse der begleitenden Evaluierung.

Nach der Ergebnispräsentation wurden den Senioren/-innen neben den in Zukunft erwerblichen RegionAAL Komponenten noch weitere interessante Unterstützungs-Technologien vorgestellt.

Die anwesenden Senioren/-innen zeigten sowohl großes Interesse als auch eine entsprechende Offenheit an der Technikunterstützung im Alter. So merkte eine der RegionAAL Teilnehmerinnen an: „So ein Projekt ist wichtig, damit so eine Technik mal bekannt wird und man weiß, was es schon alles gibt.“

© GGZ

Fast forward 4 You

Das Motto der Fast forward 4 You Veranstaltung am 24. Jänner 2019 lautete „Aktives und gesundes Altern“. Die Geriatrischen Gesundheitszentren der Stadt Graz (GGZ) stellten ihre Tätigkeiten im Bereich Active and Assisted Living (AAL) vor.

In mehreren Gastvorträgen präsentierten Partner der GGZ gemeinsame Kooperationsprojekte. Darunter gab auch Kurt Majcen für RegionAAL Einblicke in die ersten Ergebnisse der Feldtestphase. Rückfragen aus dem Publikum zeigten, dass großes Interesse an AAL-Technologien besteht bzw. wie und ab wann diese Technologien erworben und eingesetzt werden können.

© Holzcluster-Schmid

Im Wissensraum Technologie und Lernen

Das Projekt „Who Cares?“ hat sich zum Ziel gesetzt, Alter(n) und Pflege für die Steiermark neu zu denken. Dieses Ziel soll durch eine interdisziplinäre Zusammenarbeit von Experten/-innen aus unterschiedlichen Fachgebieten (Geistes-, Sozial- und Kulturwissenschaften, Kunst, Medizin, Technik) erreicht werden.

Kurt Majcen hielt im ersten Treffen des Wissensraumes Technologie und Lernen eine Kurzpräsentation zum Thema „Active and Assisted Living (AAL)“ und diskutierte danach mit den Teilnehmern/-innen verschiedene Aspekte zu Assistenztechnologien sowie Erfahrungen aus dem Feldversuch von RegionAAL.

Foto: „Who Cares“

Besuch der FH Campus Wien

Studentinnen und Studenten der FH Campus Wien besuchten am 12. Dezember 2018 das Institut DIGITAL, um über AAL-Aktivitäten bei JOANNEUM RESEARCH und über das Projekt RegionAAL zu erfahren. Nach einer Präsentation wurden der Roboter Pepper (aus einem anderen DIGITAL Projekt zum Thema Demenz) sowie das Tablet und die Smartwatch aus RegionAAL vorgeführt. Die einzelnen Technologien sind auf reges Interesse bei den Studierenden gestoßen. Diese werden vielleicht die AAL Forscher/innen von morgen…

© FH Campus Wien

AAL in der Praxis

Kerstin Löffler von den Geriatrischen Gesundheitszentren Graz (GGZ) präsentierte am 15. November 2019 RegionAAL und die Bedeutung von AAL bei der ersten AAL-Praxiskonferenz in Salzburg:

Als Kompetenzzentrum für Altersmedizin und Pflege stehen für uns die Bedürfnisse älterer Menschen im Mittelpunkt. Active and Assisted Living (AAL) Technologien sehen wir als Möglichkeit die Eigenverantwortung und Selbstständigkeit von älteren Menschen zu stärken. Die Technikunterstützung im Alter eröffnet Senioren neue Chancen, den Wunsch so lange wie möglich zu Hause selbstständig und selbstbestimmt zu leben, zu ermöglichen.

Das zentrale Element der (Weiter)Entwicklung von AAL-Technologien in die richtige Richtung ist die aktive Miteinbeziehung der Zielgruppe. Unsere Erfahrungen zeigen, dass die Senioren gerne dazu bereit sind dabei und es als große Wertschätzung wahrnehmen, wenn sie in solche Entwicklungen eingebunden werden.

Credit: Salzburg Research

Von europäischen Nachbarn lernen

Auf Einladung des steirischen Humantechnologie-Clusters besuchte eine rund zwanzigköpfige Delegation aus Sachsen-Anhalt am 27. Juni unter anderem auch die Geriatrischen Gesundheitszentren der Stadt Graz (GGZ) zum Ideenaustausch bzgl. Lösungen zu „aktivem und gesunden Altern“, um „von europäischen Nachbarn zu lernen“. In Zukunft soll es auch eine vertiefte Zusammenarbeit mit der steirischen AHA-Referenzregion geben. Vertreter aus Wirtschaft und Wissenschaft des Gesundheitssektors von Sachsen-Anhalt wurden von Digital-Staatssekretär Thomas Wünsch angeführt.

Einige steirische Initiativen wurden vorgestellt – darunter auch das RegionAAL Projekt. Im Anschluss an die Präsentation wurden Fragen zur Zusammensetzung der Gruppe der Teilnehmer/innen, zu den im Pilot eingesetzten Produkten und auch zur Weiterführung nach Projektende diskutiert. Den Abschluss bildete ein Besuch der Musterwohnung am Albert Schweitzer Trainingszentrum der GGZ.

ANDA Pflege-Symposium 2018

Im Rahmen des Pflegesymposiums 2018 der Austrian Nurse Directors Association (Vereinigung der Pflegedirektorinnen und Pflegedirektoren Österreichs, kurz ANDA) wurde auch das Projekt RegionAAL vorgestellt. Das Symposium fand von 6. bis 8. Juni 2018 im schönen St. Veit im Pongau statt. Die Arbeitsgemeinschaft ANDA beschäftigt sich mit aktuellen Fragen und Entwicklungen im Pflegemanagement und unterstützt den Aufbau eines Kommunikationsnetzwerkes zwischen Pflegeexperten/-innen in Europa.

Die neuesten wissenschaftlichen und praxisrelevanten Erkenntnisse zum Schwerpunktthema „Pflegemanagement 4.0: Big data – Robotic – Digitalisierung: Fiktion und Wirklichkeit!“ wurden von international bekannten Referenten/-innen dargelegt und in Workshops mit den Teilnehmern/-innen vertieft. Die in RegionAAL im Einsatz befindlichen Assistenztechnologien zu Gesundheit, Sicherheit und Kommunikation wurden im Workshop 2 zum Thema „Technologische Unterstützung für intra- und extramurale Pflege“, der aufgrund des regen Interesses viermal gehalten wurde, präsentiert und vorgeführt.